Menu Search

Standard Green Header

The Rector

standard content layout no side buttons

Mark Schembri

The Rector | MD BVSc BSc(vet) Hons (1) (Syd) MPH (Harv) MACVS MRCVS CertWH

Dr Mark Schembri was appointed the 19th Rector from 1 July 2022.  He has more than 13 years’ experience in pastoral care positions in residential colleges at UNSW, Harvard and the University of Sydney, where from 2012 until 2019 he served as Deputy Head of College at St Paul’s.

A graduate in both Veterinary Science and Medical Science, with a Masters’ degree in Public Health from Harvard, Mark’s career has taken him around the globe – from Dubai to Royal Randwick and to the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, where he was Veterinarian for the Australian Equine Olympic Team. For the past four years he has practised medicine at Royal Prince Alfred and Royal North Shore Hospitals.

“I’ve been associated with the University for the better part of the past three decades as a student, a lecturer and as Sub-Warden of St Paul’s College from 2012-2019. As a proud Catholic, I’ve long had a soft spot for St John’s (my children were baptised in the College chapel), and I’m thrilled to have the opportunity not only to lead the College at this important point in its history, but to call it my home, as my family and I take up residence on campus. 

Building on the progress made under Adrian Diethelm, I have great hopes for what we can achieve across sporting, academic and artistic pursuits, and for the continued growth in the culture of inclusion and mutual respect amongst the College community.” 

Rectors of St John’s College

1858 – 1860 Very Rev Maurus O’Connell OSB
1860 – 1874 Very Rev Dr John Forrest DD
1874 – 1877 Rt Rev Dr Roger Bede Vaughan OSB DD
1877 – 1883 Very Rev Dr Anselm Gillett OSB DD
1884 – 1887 Very Rev David Barry OSB
1888 – 1915 Rt Rev Dr James O’Brien DD
1915 – 1933 Very Rev Dr Maurice O’Reilly CM DD
1933 – 1958 Very Rev John Thompson CM MA
1958 – 1968 Very Rev Dr John Burnheim PhD
1969 – 1977 Very Rev Gregory Meere BA
1977 – 1980 Very Rev Dr Joseph Rheinberger STD
1980 – 1992 Very Rev Lester Cashen MPS
1992 – 1994 Very Rev Barry Tunks MA
1995 – 1999 Mr Marshall McMahon BSc
2001 – 2002 Very Rev Dr John Hill PhD
2002 – 2008 Dr David Daintree AM PhD
2009 – 2013 Mr Michael Bongers MEd
2014 – 2022 Mr Adrian Diethelm BCL
2022 – Present Dr Mark Schembri MD BVSc