Menu Search

Standard Green Header

standard content layout no side buttons

Adrian Diethelm

The Rector | BA LLB BCL MTax

Adrian Diethelm was appointed the 18th Rector from 1 January 2014, having served as Acting Rector in 2013. His background is in law, both as a legal practitioner and as an academic. He practised as a barrister for 16 years having previously been a solicitor in a city firm, was a full-time law lecturer at the Universities of Sydney (1987-89) and Queensland (1993-97), and taught law part-time for many years. His academic interests have included constitutional law, evidence and equity amongst other subjects.

After taking his BA with honours in philosophy and his LLB at the University of Sydney, Adrian read for a postgraduate law degree (BCL) at Corpus Christi College Oxford.

Adrian is married to Lois and they share the rectoral apartment with Figaro, a Persian cat, and Sheba, a Shih Tzu. Adrian is also the College’s tutor in Latin.

“My aim is to sustain the best possible environment for talented young people to flourish both academically and in their life choices. The future holds significant challenges for traditional university colleges and I am confident that St John’s is headed in the right direction. Our student body are with us on this journey and we have an outstanding management team on board. The College has a great influence on our students’ lives and it is a privilege to be involved in leading this endeavour.”

Until 1995 the Rector was required to be a Catholic priest; now the office may be held by either a priest or a Catholic lay person.

Rectors of St John’s College

1858 – 1860 Very Rev Maurus O’Connell OSB
1860 – 1874 Very Rev Dr John Forrest DD
1874 – 1877 Rt Rev Dr Roger Bede Vaughan OSB DD
1877 – 1883 Very Rev Dr Anselm Gillett OSB DD
1884 – 1887 Very Rev David Barry OSB
1888 – 1915 Rt Rev Dr James O’Brien DD
1915 – 1933 Very Rev Dr Maurice O’Reilly CM DD
1933 – 1958 Very Rev John Thompson CM MA
1958 – 1968 Very Rev Dr John Burnheim PhD
1969 – 1977 Very Rev Gregory Meere BA
1977 – 1980 Very Rev Dr Joseph Rheinberger STD
1980 – 1992 Very Rev Lester Cashen MPS
1992 – 1994 Very Rev Barry Tunks MA
1995 – 1999 Mr Marshall McMahon BSc
2001 – 2002 Very Rev Dr John Hill PhD
2002 – 2008 Dr David Daintree AM PhD
2009 – 2013 Mr Michael Bongers MEd
2014 – Present Mr Adrian Diethelm BCL